2007 No. 331

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Tandridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2007

Made - - - - 8th February 2007

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and 1(3)

Tandridge District Council, under section 9(a) of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997(b) ("the 1997 Act"), have made to the Electoral Commission(c) proposals dated January 2007 for electoral changes to two wards of the district of Tandridge and two electoral divisions of the county of Surrey:

The Electoral Commission have decided to give effect to those proposals and, in relation to the changes affecting the parishes of Bletchingley, Burstow, Nutfield and Outwood(d), to make related alterations of the boundaries of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood wards of the district of Tandridge, and Godstone and Lingfield electoral divisions of the county of Surrey:

Accordingly, the Electoral Commission, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 14(e) and 23(f) of the 1997 Act, make the following Order:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Tandridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2007.
- (2) This Order, with the exception of article 5, comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.
- (3) Article 5 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009, on 15th October 2008;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009.

⁽a) This section has been amended by the Local Government Commission for England (Transfer of Functions) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3962).

⁽b) 1997 c.29.

⁽c) The Electoral Commission was established by the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 (c.41). The functions of the Secretary of State, under sections 13, 14 and 17(4) of the 1997 Act (c.29), to the extent that they relate to electoral arrangements within the meaning of that Act, were transferred with modifications to the Electoral Commission on 1st April 2002 (S.I. 2001/3962).

⁽d) The areas of the parishes of Bletchingley, Burstow, Nutfield and Outwood were altered by the Tandridge (Parishes) Order 2006 (S.I. 2006/2499).

⁽e) This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962 and also otherwise in ways not relevant to this Order.

⁽**f**) This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

- "county" means the county of Surrey;
- "district" means the district of Tandridge;
- "existing", in relation to a district ward or electoral division, means the district ward or electoral division as it exists on the date this Order is made;
- "ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(a); and
- "registration officer" means an officer appointed for the purpose of, and in accordance with, section 8(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1983.

Numbers of district councillors for Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood district wards

3. The number of councillors to be elected for each of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood wards of the district shall be three.

Alteration of the areas of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood district wards

- **4.**—(1) The existing Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood wards(**c**) of the district shall be abolished.
- (2) Bletchingley and Nutfield ward of the district shall comprise the areas of the parishes of Bletchingley and Nutfield.
- (3) Burstow, Horne and Outwood ward of the district shall comprise the areas of the parishes of Burstow, Horne and Outwood.

Alteration of the areas of Godstone and Lingfield county electoral divisions

- **5.**—(1) The existing Godstone and Lingfield electoral divisions(**d**) of the county shall be abolished.
- (2) Godstone electoral division of the county shall comprise the areas of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Godstone wards of the district.
- (3) Lingfield electoral division of the county shall comprise the areas of Burstow, Horne and Outwood, Dormansland and Felcourt, Felbridge, and Lingfield and Crowhurst wards of the district.

Map

6. Tandridge District Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral register

7. The registration officer for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

⁽a) 1983 c.2, section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29).

⁽b) Section 8 has been amended by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c.19) and the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39).

⁽c) See the District of Tandridge (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2480).

⁽d) See the County of Surrey (Electoral Changes) Order 2004 (S.I. 2004/2819). The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division of the county is one.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 8th day of February 2007



8th February 2007

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

8th February 2007

Jacqui Dixon Secretary to the Commission

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to proposals made to the Electoral Commission for related alterations of the boundaries of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood wards of the district of Tandridge, and Godstone and Lingfield electoral divisions of the county of Surrey as a result of changes to the boundaries of the parishes of Bletchingley, Burstow, Nutfield and Outwood made by the Tandridge (Parishes) Order 2006.

The new electoral arrangements apply in respect of district elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, and county elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009.

Article 3 specifies the numbers of councillors for Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood district wards.

Article 4 makes alterations to the areas of Bletchingley and Nutfield, and Burstow, Horne and Outwood district wards.

Article 5 makes alterations to the areas of Godstone and Lingfield county electoral divisions.

Article 7 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.